HWL
Screen+Shot+2019-04-02+at+9.26.24+AM.jpg

About

PASSION.

ABOUT US

In to The Future, Howes, Weiler, Landy will continue to service our long-time clients in the way we always have, as well as expanding into new client relationships where we believe we can provide value.

 

GET IN TOUCH

We at HWL know that finding the right builder to represent you is a choice not to be taken lightly. That’s why we offer free consultations to walk you through your needs, the scope of your goals, and your budget.

Book an appointment ▸

 

HWL TEAM

 
 
Stan_2O5A0448.jpg

Principal

Stan Weiler, AICP

1.  Where are you originally from? I was born in Gainesville, GA.  However, I grew up and still live in Escondido, CA since 1971.

2.  What sport / activity did you play in the childhood years? Baseball and Soccer

3.  Did you ever build anything as a kid? Helped my father build additions to my childhood home, poured concrete, reroof houses, dug ditches, planted trees.

4.  What was the first thing you "engineered"? In high school I designed and had an architect sign plans for a single family home and a snack stand with restroom facilities for a public park.  Both were constructed.

6.  What is your favorite food / restaurant to eat at? I like all kinds of food, but Mexican and BBQ are my most favorites.  I frequent Mike’s BBQ and Cocina Del Charro in Escondido the most.

 7.  What do you do in your free time? When I am not doing chores and maintenance around the house, my wife and I are out off-roading with the sandcar or the RZR.

8.  What project are you most proud of "to date" and why? A landfill expansion in Imperial County.  Although it is not exciting to most people, it is an extremely tough regulatory process.  We had a great team of people and I was fortunate enough to be one of the main players in getting the project through the review and implementation process.

9.  Do you drink coffee?  if so what fuels yo throughout the day? I drink coffee , but that is typically in the morning only.

10.  What was your favorite vacation / road trip "to date" and why? Each vacation and road trip are special in their own way, so to pick one favorite is difficult.  Off roading in southern Utah is a highlight due to the beauty and the freedom to roam through the backcountry.  We go back to Utah almost every year or two.

 

 
 
 

 
 
 
2O5A0504 - Mel Head Shot.jpg

Principal

Mel Landy, PE

1. Where are you originally from?  San Luis Obispo.  But I was born in Idaho, because my dad was going to University of Idaho at the time.

2. What sport / activity did you play in the childhood years?  Football at Mission College Prep in San Luis Obispo and also surfing the cold, windswept, deep water breaks up there.

 3. Did you ever build anything as a kid?  I was probably more of art type as a kid and teen, nothing sticks out but I did a lot of painting and drawing when I was young.

4. When did you know that you wanted to be in the engineering world?  San Diego State.  I loved calculus…and then all of the subsequent engineering dynamics classes.  Synthesizing vast complexity to a neat workable solution is very compelling to me.

5. What is your favorite food / restaurant to eat at?  Always changing, but at the moment all the new versions of vegetarian food which has been coming out the past few years.  I like noodle shops right now,  The Underbelly in Little Italy is a favorite of mine.

6. What do you do in your free time?  Time with my young kids, which could be anything from the Zoo to Cardiff Beach.  I want to evolve that, as the kids get older, to surf trips up the California coast and back pack style trips locally and internationally.

7. What project are you most proud of "to date" and why?  Hmmm, there are a lot of them and I tend to view our projects as being part of the project team, I do really like any design that has been thoroughly realized through construction, the project tends to resonate as a “good project” with the team and then later with the community.

8. Do you drink coffee?  if so what fuels you throughout the day?  Oh yea!  Cold brew concentrate.  Lately I have gone back to drip coffee served black.

 9. What was your favorite vacation / road trip "to date" and why?  Lots of favorites, I like travel and new experiences. Tahiti with wife is one of my favorite’s because its perfect Tahiti during the day and French cuisine at night.  Another favorite is two the years I spent traveling Australia and Europe, with essentially no money, right after high school.  This trip changed the small town point of view I had previously and taught me how to hustle, in many different situations, to make enough to keep traveling.